PLAYING THE BLAME GAME

CNN’s Anderson Cooper caught our attention tonight with his reporting of Harrison Ford’s plane crash on a golf course in California. Eventually the story moved to a phone interview with Janette Wilson, a woman who is traveling and stuck in the snow, along with Jessie Jackson’s wife, on I-65 south. This was the second time I have heard this story today.

In her comments, she blamed the state of Kentucky for motorist being trapped on I-65 for 12 plus hours. She went as far as to single out (actually called-out) our governor; Steve Beshear, National Guard and emergency responders for not coming by and checking on them, offering gas and flying helicopters overhead to check on those trapped.

Really? What does she think the words “WINTER STORM WARNING” or “State of Emergency” mean? I would assume her driver ignored the Trimarc signs along I-65 which warned motorist of dangerous travel conditions and heavy snow…or am I confused?

Should every problem that we find ourselves in always be someone else’s fault? I am taken aback by the arrogance, for painting our leaders as incompetent and unprepared. They are doing the best they can, especially given the extreme nature of this weather event.

That is my rant for tonight…

Leave a comment