THE PRIDE PRINCIPLE

Yesterday at Life Church Louisville, a small part of my message was on the Pride-Principle.

Our pride (both personal and spiritual) can be a significant contributor to our relational conflicts. Until we allow God to deal with our heart, take ownership of some of our issues and end the blame-game; we can change husbands, wives, careers, churches, relationships and even the city where we live…the relational problems we have will just continue follow us. It’s kind of like working all day in the mud and at the end of the day we change clothes, but neglect to take a shower. We’re still dirty where it counts the most.

I think it would do all of us some good to examine the past 5-10-20 years of our lives and see if there is a pattern of exiting marriages, friendships, jobs and churches due to conflict. The problem may lie within ourselves.

Ask yourself some hard questions, answer them truthfully:

-Why did I leave my last couple of relationships, jobs, churches or staff?

-Why can I not stay in a relationship very long?

-How many close friends do I have?

-Are most of my friends my co-workers or my family?

I know for some, these won’t apply and other questions and observations can be examined. However, we could all uses some introspection of the heart, mind and soul. Then let’s begin taking ownership of our problems and ask God for some changing-grace.

I believe if we apply that, we will discover ourselves enjoying some deep and meaningful relationships.

Leave a comment