JOY! TO THE WORLD THE LORD HAS COME!

It’s Christmas Eve.

The greatest night of the year.

So many things remain the same in our home; the wrapping of gifts, the baking of seasonal treats, the rushing of last minute errands, the excitement, anticipation and reflecting.

So many things change in our home; family and friends who have gone on before us. I still miss my Paw Paw, my grandparents and Michele’s father, each and every Christmas Eve. Now we will miss my Uncle David who is now gone.

Children grow and begin creating lives of their own. On our first Christmas, after Michele Brent Bissig and I married, I found myself in an unfamiliar sort on Christmas Eve. What is normally and should have been a joyous occasion, had turned uncharacteristically for me.

I was missing my younger brothers and sisters whom I had grown with. Being much younger, they were the ones who set the Christmas excitement-barometer in our house, and now I was no longer living at home and felt that missing piece.

This year, I find myself come full-circle of sorts, but equal in pain. Now my child, Sara Cooley has gone to be with her new family and I am adjusting. I am sure tomorrow when Casey Cooley is with us, his wonderful family will experience the same.

Even with change, all is well. God is good.

Luke 2:10 And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people.11 For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Saviour, which is Christ the Lord. 12 And this shall be a sign unto you; Ye shall find the babe wrapped in swaddling clothes, lying in a manger. 13 And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God, and saying, 14 Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, good will toward men.

It is my prayer on this still, winter night, that family would take preeminence over gifts, meals and travel.

That the light of the Savior, the Messiah, Emmanuel; God with us, would find it’s way into your life.

That you would find His comfort, joy and peace resting upon your life.

It’s Christmas Eve.

It is the greatest night of the year.

Joy! To the world, the Lord has come
Let earth receive her King
And let every heart prepare Him room

Merry Christmas.

Leave a comment